

Ad Hoc Cabinet Committee on COVID-19 Response

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Additional Item: COVID-19: Strengthening Border Measures

Portfolio Health

On 18 March 2020, the Ad Hoc Cabinet Committee on COVID-19 Response (CVD), acting in accordance with its Power to Act:

- noted that on 14 March 2020, Cabinet agreed to a package of measures to mitigate the worst impacts and ensure the time is used to best prepare New Zealand for a COVID-19 outbreak, including stronger measures at the border [CAB-20-MIN-0106];
- 2 **noted** that under the agreed measures, the Pacific is included in Category 2, which means that all travellers (New Zealanders and foreign nationals) will be expected to self-isolate if they show symptoms within 14 days of arrival;
- noted that CVD expressed a preference for any Pacific Islands Forum member not already in Category 1B, Associate Member Tokelau, and Observer Wallis and Futuna to be moved from Category 2 to Category 1B, which would mean that all travellers (New Zealanders and foreign nationals) would be expected to self-isolate for 14 days on arrival in New Zealand, if a case of COVID-19 is confirmed in that country;
- directed officials to provide advice to the Prime Minister and relevant Ministers as soon as possible on this matter.

Janine Harvey
Committee Secretary

Hard-copy distribution: (see over)

Present:

Rt Hon Jacinda Ardern (Chair)

Rt Hon Winston Peters

Hon Kelvin Davis

Hon Grant Robertson

Hon Phil Twyford

Hon Chris Hipkins

Hon Carmel Sepuloni

Hon Dr David Clark

Hon David Parker

Hon Stuart Nash

Hon Iain Lees-Galloway

Hon Jenny Salesa

Hon Damien O'Connor

Hon Shane Jones

Hon James Shaw

Hon Julie Anne Genter

Hard-copy distribution:

Minister of Health

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Prime Minister's Chief Science Advisor

Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

State Services Commission

Ministry of Health

Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment

Ministry of Education

Ministry for Primary Industries

Ministry of Social Development

Ministry of Transport

New Zealand Customs Service

New Zealand Defence Force

New Zealand Police